School

Procrastinating Like a Pro

 

d

Hellllooo!

You know when you have a big essay due and you haven’t even started yet but your friend is already finished……And then you make a whole bunch of excuses like “I’m waiting for inspiration” or “if I do it later, I will be older and therefore wiser so my essay will be more spectacular then yours” (nailed it!). Welcome to the land of procrastination.

Phase 1: Food

When a teenager is starving, you do not want to get anywhere close to them because they will go KABOOSH and become super grumpyΒ (personal experience here πŸ˜€ ). And plus, productivity is impossible on an empty stomach. So, you go to the fridge and grab some fruit or yogurt or ice cream or chips or something delicious and you sit down and eat and rant to yourself about how annoying teachers are or contemplate about life.

Phase 2: Productive Distractions

You work on your math assignment, you work on you history notes, you work on anything but your big essay. You think to yourself “well, I’m just going to finish my other homework to leave a big chunk of time for my essay.”

And you do. You finish everything else pretty productively.

Phase 3: False Security

By now, you are pretty proud of yourself. You think that you have enough time to finish your essay later, and you decide to reward yourself with, you guessed it, more food!

By now, your day should be pretty much over (because of classes and life) and you tell yourself that it has been a pretty good day but that pesky little voice at the back of your head knows that you should have started your project. But who cares because by then, you are probably sound… zzzzzz…..zzzzzz asleep.

Phase 4: Repeat and Denial

So the next day, you wake up, go to school, and pretty much repeat Steps 1-3 since your wonderful teachers have again assigned a bunch of boring homework problems.You start denying the fact that your essay deadline is approaching quickly. 2 months turns into 1 month which turns into 2 weeks which turns into 1 week which turns into 3 days….. whoops…..

Phase 5: PANIC Mode

By now, your big project/essay may be due in a week or a few days! You curse and you complain all day long about it at school. Every single conversation comes down to how much you hate school and how much you hate writing and how much you wish you were in Hawaii on vacation.Your brain cells are going completely bonkers, and you are forced to work on it until 3 a.m. in the morning.

You promise and promise to yourself that you will never procrastinate again as you scramble to find some fancy vocabulary to put in your essay. You wish you actually took time to read the novel and annotate instead of skimming and using Sparknotes (which is actually a pretty nice supplement ;D)

You frantically scramble to finish your project.

Hopefully, you submitted your assignment on time, but onlyΒ a tad few minutes before the deadline. Pheeww! It’s all over.

Yes, this was definetley an exaggeration of procrastination (hopefully it was!), but my procrastination skills are definitely something I’m not very proud of. However, this summer I’m feeling more productive and I’m actually getting things done (*YAY*) mainly because I started early and now I feel like I can’t stop πŸ˜€

Good luck and many hugs,

-Adelina

 

24 thoughts on “Procrastinating Like a Pro

  1. Omg this is totally me!! XD I would be a huge liar if I said I haven’t done any of these things!! This is so relatable, specially the food!!! πŸ˜› I love this post and btw I love your blog, it’s so pretty!! XD ❀ XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Your banner at the top is pretty too (it reminds me of The Fault in Our Stars :D) I was reading your guilty pleasures post and…watching Youtube instead of doing homework is me every single day! Youtube is so addicting and just can’t control myself from watching especially doing homework!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

